Opening Ceremony-IVth CISCE Zonal Carrom Tournament 2023

The vibrant game of carrom has taken center stage at J.H. Tarapore School as students put their skills to the test during the highly anticipated three-day event – the IVth CISCE Zonal Carrom Tournament 2023.

On 26th July 2023, the sports department of J. H. Tarapore School organized a tournament for the U-14 Category that saw enthusiastic participation from students of 26 different schools, all coming together to showcase their exceptional talent in the traditional board game of carrom.

The ceremony commenced with a heartfelt invocation of blessings as a ceremonial lamp was lit, signifying the auspicious beginning of the event. The occasion was graced by the esteemed presence of the Olympian, Mr. Anand Louis Menezes, Senior Manager at Tata Steel Sports Department, who adorned the role of Chief Guest for the day.

The event was graced by esteemed Guests of Honour, Mr. L. Nageshwar Rao, representing the Tata Steel Karate Center, and Mrs. Priti Sinha, the Principal of Gulmohar High School and Zonal Coordinator of the Jamshedpur Zone. Adding to the significance of the occasion, Mr. D. P. Balmiki served as the chief referee throughout the tournament.

The selection process encompassed various rounds, each meticulously designed to assess and evaluate the participants’ diverse skill sets and abilities.

The highlight of the event was the eagerly awaited results of the first day of the CISCE Zonal Carrom Tournament 2023, which included the singles and doubles competitions in the U-14 category, with outcomes declared for both Boys and Girls.

Winners of U-14 Tournament: Singles Category

1.Abir Bag (Church School Beldih)Payal Ghosh (Church School Beldih)
2.Ayush Kumar (Vig School)Sonam Jha (Church School Beldih)
3.Jayant Karan (Church School Beldih)Prachi Pattnaik (KPS Gamharia)

Winners of U-14 Tournament : Doubles Category

1.Rehan Alam & Gaurav Agarwal(Church School Beldih)Izma Israr & Saima Shahid(Church School Beldih)
2.Deepanshu Pal & Sourav Kumar Pandey (KPS Gamharia)Anshika Mangaraj & Alisha Bharti(J.H.Tarapore School)
3.Om Narayan Mishra & Amrit Kumar (Carmel Junior College)Naeema Khan & Sufia Naaz(KPS Mango)

Mrs. Rubina Bodhanwala, the Director of J.H. Tarapore School, along with Mrs. Lata Sharat, the Principal, and Mrs. Rukshana H. Gardin, the Vice-Principal, expressed their heartfelt satisfaction with the overwhelming response and participation of the students.

Mr. V. Arun Kumar, the Head of the Sports Department at J.H. Tarapore School, also expressed his pride in witnessing the students’ dedication to the game and their sportsmanship spirit, as the IVth CISCE Zonal Carrom Tournament 2023 at J.H. Tarapore School commenced remarkably well, holding the promise of discovering exceptional talents who could shine at higher levels in the world of carrom.